Candidacy for Parliament and Council of State of Cuba today presented

Candidacy for Parliament and Council of State of Cuba today presented
Fecha de publicación: 
10 October 2019
Imagen principal: 

The National Candidacy Commission of Cuba today presented the nomination of the positions of president, vice president and secretary of the National Assembly of Popular Power (ANPP) and of the Council of State.

Esteban Lazo, Ana María Mari Machado and Homero Acosta, who respectively occupy those responsibilities in the ANPP were the candidates presented by María Consuelo Baeza, president of the referred commission.

Such candidacies were the result of consultations with 99.6 percent of the deputies that make up the Cuban Parliament.

Only two legislators who completed work missions abroad were not consulted, Baeza explained.

For the first time in more than four decades the Council of State is not chaired by the head of state. Such redistribution of functions is contemplated in the Constitution approved in April.

Today the candidacy for the rest of the members of the State Council was also presented, which will be composed of 21 members.

None of them may be a member of the Ministerial Council, or head of the Supreme Court of Justice, of the Attorney General's Office or of the Comptroller's Office, according to another modification of the new Magna Carta.

The Cuban deputies will exercise the direct and secret vote on those nominations in a day in which the president and vice president of the Republic will also be elected.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.