Twelve teams to compete at Men’s Pan Am Cup in Mexico

Twelve teams to compete at Men’s Pan Am Cup in Mexico
Fecha de publicación: 
24 August 2018
Imagen principal: 

The XIII Men’s Volleyball Pan American Cup will be held in the city of Cordova, State of Veracruz, Mexico from August 28 to September 2 with the participation of twelve countries.

Chile, Cuba, Guatemala and host Mexico will compete in Pool A, while Brazil, Dominican Republic, Canada and Colombia will play in Pool B and United States, Argentina, Peru and Puerto Rico are the teams in Pool C.

Argentina is the defending champions after winning two of its overall four silver medals in the previous editions.

The top five teams at the end of the XIII Cup, regardless its confederation, will be granted tickets to the 2019 Pan American Games to be held in Lima, Peru.

Six daily matches will be played at Cordova Arena, a modern facility built for the 2014 Central American and Caribbean Games that has two additional warm-up or training courts. The actions are set to begin at 11:00 a.m. (local time).

The top two ranked pool winner will advance directly to the semifinal round while the lowest ranked pool winner will join the second placed teams in the quarterfinals.

The United States are the winningest country for the competition with five crowns followed by Brazil with three. Cuba has won it twice while Mexico and Argentina has one title in their bags.

Mexico and the Dominican Republic have taken part in all the 12 editions of the event followed by Canada and United States with 11.

The members of the control committee will arrive on August 25 while referees and teams will do it on August 26. All delegations, control committee and referees will leave on September 3.

The year-by-year medalists is as follows:

Year    Gold    Silver  Bronze

2006     USA      MEX      CAN

2007     MEX      PUR      CUB

2008     USA      CAN      DOM

2009     USA      CAN      DOM

2010     USA      ARG      PUR

2011     BRA      USA      CAN

2012     USA      ARG      DOM

2013     BRA      MEX      ARG

2014     CUB      USA      ARG

2015     BRA      ARG      VEN

2016     CUB      ARG      CAN

2017     ARG      PUR      CUB

The calendar of matches for the preliminary phase is as follows:

August 28

11:00    United States v Peru

13:00    Chile v Cuba

15:00    Brazil v Dominican Republic

17: 00   Canada v Colombia

19:00    Argentina v Puerto Rico

21:00    Mexico v Guatemala

August 29

11:00    Cuba v Guatemala

13:00    Colombia v Brazil

15:00    Peru v Argentina

17: 00   Dominican Republic v Canada

19:00    Puerto Rico v United States

21:00    Mexico v Chile

August 30

11:00    Peru v Puerto Rico

13:00    Guatemala v Chile

15:00    Colombia v Dominican Republic

17: 00   Brazil v Canada

19:00    United States v Argentina

21:00    Mexico v Cuba

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.