Cuban Parliament Maintains Links With Counterparts in 146 countries

Cuban Parliament Maintains Links With Counterparts in 146 countries
Fecha de publicación: 
4 June 2018
Imagen principal: 

The National Assembly of People's Power of Cuba maintains relations with parliaments of 146 countries of the five continents, links focused on the mission of promoting and defending the island’s foreign policy, deputies said here today.

In the first meeting of the Commission of International Relations of the 9th Legislature - installed on April 18 for the period 2018-2023 - the president of that working group, Yolanda Ferrer, said that the levels of interaction with the parliaments of the planet are different.

During the previous term (2013-2018), we developed these links from visits by delegations, inter-parliamentary meetings, and regional and global forums, among other ways, said the deputy, ratified in office last Saturday, in the first extraordinary session of the current period.

According to Ferrer, among the links with homologous entities are those that materialize with 32 from Latin America and the Caribbean, 48 from Africa and the Middle East, and 44 from Europe.

Regarding visits, he explained that in the 8th Legislature 222 delegations were received, 122 of them invited by the National Assembly, while the other 100 took place at the request of various agencies of the country.

According to the president of the International Relations Commission, in the analyzed stage, Cuban parliamentarians made visits to Russia, China, Serbia, Vietnam, Chile, Iran, Germany, Canada, United Kingdom, Italy, and Japan.

Ferrer said that in the 9th Legislature work will continue to strengthen ties with parliaments of the planet, facing the mission of the working group to defend the foreign policy of the Cuban Revolution.

In that sense, on Saturday the National Assembly approved friendship parliamentary groups with 93 countries.

Today will be dedicated to the first meeting of the 10 permanent commissions approved on Saturday.

The 10 working groups are composed of 380 of the 605 deputies of the 9th Legislature, who were elected last March 11 in the general elections 2017-2018.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.