Cuban scientists win Sofia Kovalevskaya Award

Cuban scientists win Sofia Kovalevskaya Award
Fecha de publicación: 
14 March 2023
Imagen principal: 

The 2021 and 2023 Sofia Kovalevskaya Award was granted in Cuba, where International Mathematics Day was celebrated.

The acknowledgment is sponsored by the Kovalevskaya Foundation and the Faculty of Mathematics and Computing of the University of Havana, and its purpose is to encourage women from developing countries to participate in the scientific and technological life of their nations.

Among the winners are Cuban scientists Nigreisy Montalvo, Lizet Sánchez, Yaile Caballero, and Isabel Alonso, as well as Olga Lidia Perez, Sira Maria Allende, Lisset Suarez, Iliana Perez, Victoria Hernandez, and Concepcion Valdes.

The foundation was named after Russian mathematician, socialist, and feminist Sofia Vasilievna Kovalevskaya (1850-1891), who was the first female professor of Mathematics in Europe. (Source: PL)

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.