Cuban Parliament designates Manuel Marrero Cruz as Prime Minister

Cuban Parliament designates Manuel Marrero Cruz as Prime Minister
Fecha de publicación: 
21 December 2019
Imagen principal: 

Following the suggestion of President Miguel Diaz-Canel Bermudez, the National Assembly of People’s Power has designated Manuel Marrero Cruz as Prime Minister of the nation.

Marrero is 56 years old and before the appointment he was the Minister of Tourism, serving in that post since 2004.

Saturday's designation follows the provisions of the recently approved Constitution, which established the figure of the head of government.

1576955856 599002 1576956615 noticia normal

The position of the Prime Minister in Cuba was used until 1976, when the National Assembly of People's Power was established.   It is a position that returns and was held by the historic leader of the Cuban Revolution, Fidel Castro, from February 1959 to December 1976.

'The head of government will be in office for a period of five years and will be responsible to the Parliament and the President of the Republic, to both of whom he will report and inform on his management, as well as of the performance of the Council of Ministers or its Executive Committee, as requested.

Secretary and other members of the Council of Ministers

The President of the Republic proposed José Amado Ricardo Guerra as Secretary of the Council of Ministers.

He then mentions the remaining members:

1- Leopoldo Cintra Frías, Minister of the Revolutionary Armed Forces

2- Julio César Gandarilla Bermejo, Minister of the Interior

3- José Ramón Saborido Loidi, Minister of Higher Education
4- Ena Elsa Velázquez Cobiella, Minister of Education.
5- Meisi Bolaños Weis, Minister of Finance and Prices
6- René Mesa Villafaña, Minister of Construction
7- Rodrigo Malmierca, Minister of Foreign Trade and Foreign Investment
8- Bruno Rodríguez Parrilla, Minister of Foreign Affairs
9- Eduardo Rodríguez Dávila, Minister of Transport
10- Elba Rosa Pérez Montoya, Minister of Science, Technology and Environment
11- Oscar Manuel Silvera, Minister of Justice
12- Betsy Díaz Velázquez, Ministry of Domestic Trade
13- Alpidio Alonso Grau, Minister of Culture
14- Jorge Luis Perdomo Di-Lella, Minister of Communications
15- Jose Angel Portal Miranda, Ministry of Public Health
16- Alejandro Gil Fernández, Ministry of Economy
17- Gustavo Rodríguez Rollero, Ministry of Agriculture
18- Antonio Rodríguez Rodríguez, Institute of Hydraulic Resources
19- Alfonso Noya Martínez, Cuban Institute of Radio and Television
20- Osval Vento Montiller, National Institute of Sports, Physical Education and Recreation.

Díaz-Canel proposes to appoint six new ministers

1- Marta Elena Feito Cabrera, Minister of Labour and Social Security
2- Juan Carlos García Grada, Minister of Tourism
3- Marta Wilson González, Minister-President of the Central Bank of Cuba
4- Manuel Santiago Sobrino Martínez, Minister of the Food Industry
5- Eloy Álvarez Martínez, Minister of Industry
6 Nicolas Arrente Cruz, Minister of Energy and Mines

The President of the Republic also presented to the Assembly his proposal for six Deputy Prime Ministers:

1- Ramiro Valdés Menéndez, Commander of the Revolution
2- Roberto Morales Ojeda
3- Inés María Chapman Waugh
4- José Luis Tapia Fonseca
5- Alejandro Miguel Gil Fernández, who will remain Minister of Economy
6- Ricardo Cabrisas Ruiz

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.