Twenty places nominated to Restoration and Conservation National Awards

Twenty places nominated to Restoration and Conservation National Awards
Fecha de publicación: 
16 April 2015
Imagen principal: 

In this edition, all provinces submitted one or two options in both categories, except Matanzas and Santiago de Cuba, said Gladys Collazo, director of the CNPC.
With nine nominations within the Conservation section, and 11 within the Restoration category, we may ensure the work to preserve and rescue buildings of historical, cultural and natural value in Cuba increases each year, she said.

In addition, among those aspiring to the Restoration Award, she mentioned some institutions such as Orden del Santísimo Salvador de Santa Brígida y de la Madre Isabel, in Pinar del Río province; Martí Theater, in Havana and Fortaleza de Nuestra Señora de los Ángeles de Jagua, in Cienfuegos province just to mention a few.

Within the Conservation category, she named places like Nuestra Señora de la Merced Parish Church, in Artemisa; Carlos Manuel de Céspedes Park, in Holguín; Ignacio Agramonte Museum, in Camagüey and Lucha Campesina Museum, in Granma, etc.

Furthermore, he stated the awards will be granted in an official ceremony on April 18, 2015, at 3 pm, at Martí Theater.

Within the Restoration category, three awards having the same level of hierarchy will be granted—as explained Collazo—one for the executer, another for the investor and the other one for the main designer of the site awarded in this edition.

The Restoration and Conservation National Awards have been granted since 2003 and they aim at encouraging the rescue and preservation of Cuban heritage.

Translation: Roxana Marquez Herrera (Cubarte)

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.