New members of the Cuban Parliament take office

New members of the Cuban Parliament take office
Fecha de publicación: 
28 October 2020
Imagen principal: 

Twenty new deputies to the National Assembly of People's Power of Cuba (Parliament) took office on Wednesday during the ordinary session of that state body, which is taking place virtually.

Introduced by the President of the Parliament, Esteban Lazo, among the legislators, are ministers of different portfolios, such as Labor and Social Security, and Tourism, and governors of some territories and secretaries of the Communist Party in different regions.

Last Monday, these parliamentarians signed the oath that corresponds to the new responsibility. Then the President of the island, Miguel Diaz-Canel, told them that it is an honor to serve the country in complex and challenging moments.

The National Assembly remembered with a moment of silence, three deputies who died between sessions: Yamila Acosta, a deputy from the province of Mayabeque, and Antonio Pérez, from the municipality of Remedios, Villa Clara.

Likewise, Eusebio Leal, who was Historian of the City of Havana. Of Eusebio Leal, the President of the Parliament, Esteban Lazo, said:

"This Parliament remembers him as an extraordinary lawmaker, who gave us deep, insightful remarkable addresses during debates, both in the plenary and in the Standing Committees. He contributed to the growth of love and respect for the flag, the shield, and the anthem that identify us as a nation. We will never forget his reflections in the analysis of the draft Constitution and the law of national symbols, among others.", Lazo Hernandez said of Eusebio Leal.


Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.