CELAC is a mechanism for dialogue and regional political coordination

CELAC is a mechanism for dialogue and regional political coordination
Fecha de publicación: 
17 September 2021
Imagen principal: 
Mexico, Sep 17 (Prensa Latina) The Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC), whose 6th summit will begin on September 18 in Mexico, is an intergovernmental mechanism for dialogue and political coordination in which the United States and Canada will not participate.
Its membership consists of 33 Latin American and Caribbean countries, although 15 nations participate as observers.

The CELAC resulted from the commitment to making progress in the gradual process of the regional integration, seeking balance between unity and the political, economic, social and cultural diversity of 600 million inhabitants of Latin America and the Caribbean.

The CELAC was founded in December 2011 and since then, it has contributed to deepening respectful dialogue among all countries in the region on issues such as social development, education, nuclear disarmament, family agriculture, culture, finance, energy and the environment, among others.

The bloc has encouraged Latin American and Caribbean to see themselves as a community of nations capable of dialogue and seeking consensus on issues of common interest.

With ups and downs, it has made progress in this direction, but it is far from meeting its needs about this issue.

The CELAC seeks to complement the already existing regional architecture based on non-duplication of efforts, in order to enhance common elements and promote complementariness.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.