Cuban Artists Association awards Annual Recognition and Composition Prize

Cuban Artists Association awards Annual Recognition and Composition Prize
Fecha de publicación: 
19 January 2024
Imagen principal: 

The Association of Musicians of the Cuban Writers and Artists Association (Uneac by its Spanish acronym) presented its Annual Recognition Award for Lifetime Achievement to composer and pianist Jose Maria Vitier, and to violinist Rafael Lay Bravo, director of the Aragon Orchestra.
At the Ruben Martinez Villena Hall, the work of both artists was highlighted, where family trees, artistic sensitivity and a connection with the sounds of the Island converge.

For Jose Maria Vitier, his 70 years are made up of continuous learnings that run a path from the influences of his parents Cintio Vitier and Fina Garcia Marruz, to the musical passion shared with his brother Sergio Vitier.

The recognition certificate, read by Samuel Formell, director of the Van Van, when referring to Rafaelito Lay, as he is known in the guild, highlighted his methods and skills to ensure the replacement of members in each generation, the balance between the preservation of the anthological repertoire and the implementation of new proposals of themes necessary for the evolution of the orchestra.

During the day, coinciding with the 76th anniversary of Sergio Vitier's birth, the results of the Harold Gramatges Composition Contest were also announced.

The first and third prizes were awarded to two students of the National School of Arts (ENA by its Spanish acronym): Joel Jesus Diaz for El triunfo de la luz(The triumph of light, for piano and Dos aspectos del diálogo for flute, and to Paula Piñero Benitez for Paradissus for flute quintet, as well as Acuarela para un trigal and Nebulosa jade, calma (Watercolor for a wheat field and Nebula jade, calm).

The second prize was awarded to guitarist Erig Rebull Fundora for Cuatro momentos apresurados(Four hasty moments) and Un encuentro para dos guitarras(A meeting for two guitars), and the work Encerrado(Enclosed) by Hugo Gerardo Valdes deserved the mention.

The ceremony was also attended by Marta Bonet, president of Uneac, as well as Indira Fajardo, president of the Cuban Institute of Music.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.