Nobel Prize in Literature for French writer Annie Ernaux

Nobel Prize in Literature for French writer Annie Ernaux
Fecha de publicación: 
6 October 2022
Imagen principal: 

Paris, Oct 6 (Prensa Latina) The jury of the Swedish Academy announced the awarding of the Nobel Prize in Literature to the French author Annie Ernaux, 82, valuing her work on the 'collective limitations of personal memory'.

Ernaux thus becomes the seventeenth woman to receive the Nobel Prize for Literature, of the 114 awarded since 1901, and the first from France, eight years after the Parisian Patrick Modiano (2014) was awarded the same prize.

The Academy valued an author who ‘systematically examines from different angles lives marked by disparities, namely gender, language and social class’, and awarded her the gold medal and an amount close to 10 million Swedish kronor, about 920 thousand euros.

Born in 1940 in Normandy, Ernaux has written some twenty books adopting a perspective close to her biography, portraying the evolution of women in the convulsed French society from the post-war period to the present day, imprinting her feelings and her working class origins where she comes from.

She began to publish during her stay as a teacher of modern literature in a high school in the suburbs of Paris, and already in the 60s of the last century she moved to Cergy, a city that would serve as the setting for much of her work, and where she worked as a teacher at her university.

Success came in 1984 with ‘La Place’, which won the Prix Renaudot, an intimate account of his childhood and youth in Normandy, finding a rhythm and a personal tone where memories and present feed the background of simple stories.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.