Cuban Gurriel wins his first Gold Glove in the best baseball in the world

Cuban Gurriel wins his first Gold Glove in the best baseball in the world
Fecha de publicación: 
8 November 2021
Imagen principal: 

Havana, November 8 (RHC)-- Cuba's Yulieski Gurriel (37) won his first Gold Glove in Major League Baseball in the United States (MLB), becoming the oldest first baseman to win the important distinction, which began to be awarded in 1957.

Only one other Cuban-born starter, Rafael Palmeiro, had ever won the MLB's highest honor for the best defenders at each position.

Gurriel, a starter for the Houston Astros, beat out the other two American League first-pad finalists, Matt Olson (Athletics) and Jared Walsh (Angelinos).

During the season, Gurriel also won the American League batting champion crown (319 batting average) and set several postseason records.

To be worthy of the Gold Glove, voters took into account the fact that the Sancti Spíritus-born (central Cuba), had a phenomenal fielding average of 995, with only 6 errors in 1222 innings.

Only 7 players, none of them Cuban, have won in the same MLB season the title of batting champion and the Gold Glove.

Other Gold Glove winners in the 2021 campaign are the Puerto Rican Carlos Correa, American League's Astros bullpen player, and the shortstop Nolan Arenado (National League's St. Louis Cardinals).

The Cardinals set a record with five players awarded the Gold Glove, a distinction that recognizes the best position players on defense.

In addition to Arenado, the other Cardinals' Gold Glove winners are first baseman Paul Goldschmidt, second baseman Tommy Edman, center fielder Harrison Bader and left fielder Tyler O'Neill.

Among the top winners of the award in history are pitcher Greg Maddux, owner of 18 Gold Gloves, the last of them at the oldest age of a player to win the award, 42, and Puerto Ricans Iván Rodríguez (catcher) and Roberto Clemente (right fielder), both with 12 distinctions.


MLB Gold Glove Winners 2021

National League

1B-Paul Goldsmchmid, St. Louis Cardinals.

2B-Tommy Edman, St. Louis Cardinals.

SS-Brandon Crawford, San Francisco Giants.

3B-Nolan Arenado, St. Louis Cardinals.

LF-Tyler O'Nelli, St. Louis Cardinals.

CF-Harrison Bader-St. Louis Cardinals.

RF-Adam Duvall-Marlins-Braves

C-Jacob Stallings-Pittsburgh Pirates

P-Max Fried, Atlanta Braves.

American League:

1B-Yuli Gurriel, Houston Astros.

2B-Marcus Semien, Toronto Blue Jays.

SS-Carlos Correa, Houston Astros.

3B-Matt Chapman, Oakland Athletics.

LF-Andrew Benintendi, Kansas City Royals.

CF-Michael Taylor, Kansas City Royals.

RF-Joey Gallo-New York Yankees.

C-Sean Murphy-Oakland Athletics.

P-Dallas Keuchel-Chicago White Sox.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.